Curated.Works: New Old Tales – Part 3

New Old Tales is finally coming to an end, and I hope you are having fun with this series so far! For the last piece, Svetlana Makarova has decided to create a fairytale scene with Rapunzel (in Alexander McQueen), Alice (in Dolce & Gabbana), and her Rabbit.

Here is the conversation:

Alice: “Don’t I look good in your blonde hair?”
Rapunzel: “Alice… I think you need to grow up, and stop playing with my hair!”
Rabbit: “Oh no…”

Svetlana-Makarova-Dolce-and-Gabbana-Alexander-McQueen-Fall-2014-2Rapunzel in Alexander McQueen F/W 2014 and Alice inDolce & Gabbana F/W 2014
Courtesy of Svetlana Makarova

I am in love with this artwork! It’s so fun and having this combination is a refreshing idea! Here are the 2 questions I have for Svetlana based on this illustration.

Why did you decide to pair up Alice and Rapunzel in this particular scene?
This plot was actually the 1st one that came up to my mind when I began brainstorming the fairy tales series. I remember my classmates put scarves on their heads like Alice does with the Rapunzel‘s hair here, and fooling around at school. This became the source of inspiration for the plot. Then the characters’ choice was determined by the long hair of Rapunzel and craziness of the Alice, which became a perfect match for this illustration. 🙂

You have illustrated 6 female characters in this series. If you could only use one adjective to describe each of them, what adjectives would you choose?
Alice – Childish
Rapunzel – Discreet
Snowqueen – Dreamy
Maleficent – Determined
Red Riding Hood – Adventurous
Snowhite – Reckless

Once again, both Svetlana and I hope you enjoy this series. I personally want to thank Svetlana for collaborating with me and this was such a wonderful experience! Hopefully I will be able to work on another project with her in the future!

Leave a Reply

