Illustration.Files: New York Fashion Week Runway Sketches by Pippa McManus Part 2

Few weeks ago, I showed you some amazing NYFW runway sketches by Pippa McManus and today, it’s time for a round 2!

Pippa-McManus-Marchesa-Spring-2014Marchesa

I am in love with all the sketches here. They are beautiful and I love the details of the clothing pieces. Many of you may wonder why Pippa has decided to create a runway sketche project every season and now, I have the answer for you.

” My catwalk illustrations are all about my obsession with fashion weeks from around the world (especially Paris, I hang out for Paris!). Each season I chose fifteen shows by trawling through Style.com pics, from New York, London, Milan and Paris fashion weeks and illustrate my two standout outfits from each show. I started doing this in A/W 2011 with the intention to finish a whole season, but it didn’t quite work out that way! I got to London and then life got in the way, this tends to happen sometimes. But since then I make a point of having my morning coffee over my Style.com ipad app just to see what hit the catwalk on the other side of the world while I was sleeping.

The outfits I choose are a mixture and revolve around these things: what I would die to wear, an outfit that is the absolute show stopper, something the model suits so well that the whole thing just comes together perfectly (bravo casting directors on that one!), an outfit that I think would be a challenge to illustrate or would be just plain fun to draw because its so kooky, or most importantly a design that is so true to the designer’s aesthetic that it can’t be missed. Each illustration takes around 15 mins to finish and when drawn straight from the catwalk those take around 30 seconds!”

I cannot believe Pippa can finish a sketch in 30 seconds so to me, this is a miracle! At this moment, I just hope she will illustrate more collections this season since I am so in love with her runway sketches.

Pippa-McManus-Carolina-Herrera-Spring-2014 Carolina Herrera

Pippa-McManus-Jason-Wu-Spring-2014 Jason Wu

Pippa-McManus-Libertine-Spring-2014 Libertine

Pippa-McManus-Ohne-Titel-Spring-2014 Ohne Titel

Pippa-McManus-Proenza-Schouler-Spring-2014 Proenza Schouler 

Pippa-McManus-Sally-La-Pointe-Spring-2014 Sally La Pointe

Pippa-McManus-Thom-Browne-Spring-2014Thom Browne
Courtesy of Pippa McManus

Leave a Reply

