Curated.Works: Givenchy Elements – Spring 2013

If you are a fan of William Blower‘s works, I am sure you have already seen the first part of the Givenchy Elements series! Today, it’s time to unveil the second piece.

This illustration is inspired by Givenchy S/S 2013 collection. I am in love with the composition as William has transformed one of the prints from this collection into his own creation. Because of the strong bone structure, the model here expresses a very bold vibe, which matches the aesthetic of this collection. Now, let’s read what William has to say about this illustration and the collection.

Will-Blower-Givenchy-Spring-2013Courtesy of WIlliam Blower

I know your illustration is inspired by one of the prints in this collection. What so special about this print? Does it send out a particular message to you? 
I think I like this particular print because it reminds me of Francis Bacon‘s work. He had a big influence on me when I was studying.

I love how distorted the features of the face are, and how the dark imagery contrasts with the lightness of the collection.
 
What is your favourite element in this collection?

I really like the minimalism of it. Riccardo Tisci is known for intricate, heavily detailed designs, but this collection is clean and almost clinical.
 
I especially like the brocade pieces. They look simple at first glance but are beautifully textured up close.
 
Keep an eye on this site as William and I will unveil the 3rd piece from this series soon!
Leave a Reply

