Curated.Works: Dance WITH Hello Claire! (Part 2)

On Tuesday, I showed you the first part of Dance, my latest collaboration with Claire Thompson from Hello Claire, and now it’s time for the next 2 pieces. For this part, we have Jason Wu and Oscar de la Renta.

Jason Wu S/S 2013 

Hello-Claire-Thompson-Jason-Wuss-Spring-2013

What type of dance can you associate this collection with?
Jason Wu‘s collection immediately reminded me of ballet dancers. I think his use of sheer fabrics, specifically tulle, inspired me to illustrate a ballerina. His work is understated but always elegant, much like a ballet performer. This particular illustration was about interpreting the fabrics Jason Wu used and turning it into a dance piece.

What’s your first reaction when you saw this collection? Which pieces were your favorites?
I noticed a very heavy use of leather in Jason‘s collection, and would have liked to see more manipulations of it. My favorite pieces were the flowy chiffon dresses. Not only did they look like fun dresses to wear, but they carried the most personality compared to the rest of his pieces.

Oscar de la Renta S/S 2013

Hello-Claire-Thompson-Oscar-De-La-Renta-Spring-2013Courtesy of Hello Claire

What type of dance can you associate this collection with?
Oscar de la Renta‘s spring collection made me think about a fun, feminine and flirty dance. His pieces are always timeless and elegant. The color palette in this particular collection reminded me of a fun but elegant type of dance. I loved the pink and green together in this piece.

What’s your first reaction when you saw this collection? Which pieces were your favorites?
Oscar‘s collection was classic and timeless as always. I could tell it was still an Oscar show, but the diversity of patterns and textures felt very refreshing to see. Some of my most favorite pieces in his collection were the iconic “Oscar dresses”. I really loved the belted high-low gowns at the end of show.

Next week, I will show you the rest of this series. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

