Curated.Works: Dance WITH Hello Claire! (Part 1)

Thanks to Noëlly Sam, the mastermind behind MIss Sly, I got the chance to see the lovely illustration works of Claire Thompson. Now that I have developed the site, it’s my honor to work on a nice collaboration project with her and we titled it Dance.

In this series, Claire has created 6 S/S 2013 illustrators and each represents a dance type. I am truly amazed by her skills and today, I am going to show you the 1st 2 pieces from this series. They are Alexander McQueen and Gucci.

Alexander McQueen S/S 2013

Hello-Claire-Thompson-Alexander-McQueen-Spring-2013

What type of dance can you associate this collection with?
Alexander McQueen‘s look this season, as will all seasons, was dramatic and theatrical. The use of feminine yellow and the black hats created a bit of tension throughout the whole collection. I thought of a waltz dance, combined with a mashup of industrial music. This particular dance pose captures the model right after a spin. I really enjoy sketching for McQueen. The drama from all of McQueen‘s looks always pulls out a deeper emotion that I channel into my sketches.

What’s your first reaction when you saw this collection? Which piece was your favorite?
Upon first seeing this collection, I became very intrigued by the drama and theatrical-like presentation of these pieces. The cage hats were very captivating to me, and ended up being my favorite part of the whole collection.

Gucci S/S 2013 

Hello-Claire-Thompson-Gucci-Spring-2013Courtesy of Hello Claire

What type of dance can you associate this collection with?
Gucci‘s collection was all about making a statement through color this season. The silhouettes and patterns in the collection reminded me of 60s and 70s pop. My personal favorite was a short dress with sleeves. It had so much color and pattern going on, that it wasn’t enough to contain the pattern in the dress. The energy from the color was electric, so I illustrated the patterns dancing off the model.

What’s your first reaction when you saw this collection? Which piece was your favorite?
When I first saw Gucci S/S 2013 collection, I thought of a color spectrum. The color palette this season was very large- and bright. A lot of the pieces were great statement pieces, so it was hard to find a favorite.

Are you in love with these illustrations  Come back on Thursday and I will show you part 2 of this series!

One thought on “Curated.Works: Dance WITH Hello Claire! (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Curated.Works: Dance WITH Hello Claire! (Part 2) | Draw A Dot.

Leave a Reply

